top of page
  • Writer's pictureTiffany Catchim

Brutal Honesty with God

Can we really be honest with God... like in a raw kind of, even brutal way?


The truth is... life is hard! Sometimes it's just so crappy we want to give up. We have ups and downs and sometimes those downs can be really, really low... at times we all feel rage, hurt, discouragement, lost, sad.

But can we come near to God in those times? Can we talk to Him about the crappiest of feelings we have, not just when we feel like giving him praise?


If you will take a read through the book of Psalms in the Bible, then you will see all of the feelings.


We, at OneLife, believe that we can and should approach God with our full selves at any time. And that may, at times, mean we talk to him when we feel like cussing him out or strangling someone. Truth is, that what you release to Him is nothing new for Him. He's been around a long time, He is so big, and He can take it. And when you lay yourself before him, your full self, that is exactly the kind of moment He wants to break into your life and bring something good out of bad.


Check out Psalm 13.

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me? How long must I make decisions alone with sorrow in my heart day after day? How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look at me! Answer me, O Lord my God! Light up my eyes, or else I will die and my enemy will say, “I have overpowered him.” My opponents will rejoice because I have been shaken.

But I trust your mercy. My heart finds joy in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord because he has been good to me.


Give it a try. Write a psalm to God. A psalm is really just like a poem or song. They often speak honestly about a personal situation while giving praise to God and declaring trust in Him, His faithfulness, or His way.


What are you feeling? What are you really feeling?

Take time to write it out to God. Nobody else has to see it.


We can come to God just how we are with all of our feelings. Talk to Him, release and lay it all out to Him. Truth is, this is the best thing we could do, knowing He is the one who can hold us, lift us out, make a new way to move forward in our life. We can trust God with literally everything!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page